Lodge Life

Here are some stories from past seasons. For the most up to date pictures and comments visit our FaceBook page.

What can you see from a kayak?

Thursday, August 05, 2010
can't Read more

How to Make Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages Better

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

The Real Pioneers

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

A Real Birch Canoe

Monday, July 12, 2010

On the Edge of Algonquin

Sunday, June 27, 2010

In all kinds of weather...

Thursday, June 17, 2010

Loons, Hay Lake, and True Wild

Monday, June 07, 2010

Did I Mention Family?

Monday, May 31, 2010
It occurred to me that I have mentioned the wonderful quiet serenity at Hay Lake so much that you might think, if you haven't been here before, that this is a haven for monks and hermits.  Monks and hermits are certainly welcome, but Hay Lake is a family business, and we enjoy hosting families.  Sometimes the families are small - a couple from Japan and their 18-month old son - and sometimes a family stays in 2,3 even all 6 of our cottages for a couple of days, or a week.  My own family has gathered here twice, and we're getting ready to do it again in August, so I know from personal experience that we have the perfect combination of common area and privacy.  You can spend the day together, then go back to your cabins at night for a breather!

Summer's here!

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

It's so quiet here...

Monday, May 17, 2010